top of page
  • Berline

Annotated Bibliography

Akingbola, C. O., & Vyas, J. (2017). Traction alopecia: A neglected entity in 2017. Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology & Leprology, 83(6), 644-649. doi:10.4103/ijdvl.IJDVL_553_16


This article wasn’t too different from the Traction alopecia: the root of the problem article. In fact, one of the references they shared was Dr. Paradi Mirmirani. The article discusses more in-depth issues that occur at the scalp, especially how unhealthy hair looks when there’s tensions placed on it at stress points. This source was particularly helpful because of the use of detailed images. The images displayed the scalp with notation of the various damaged follicles in different stages of traction alopecia. A particular detail that the article touched on, the early signs of traction alopecia while doing hair, was helpful in deciding whether or not my hair was truly being protected.


Benzarti, M. 1., Pailler-Mattei, C., Jamart, J. 1., & Zahouani, H. 1. (2014). The effect of hydration on the mechanical behaviour of hair doi:10.1007/s11340-014-9904-0


This journal detailed an experiment on a 30-year-old Caucasian woman’s undyed and untreated hair. The point of the experiment is to test how dry hair reacts to tension versus how wet hair reacts to tension. I am including this article in my annotated bibliography to display the lack of research done on coarse hair. After searching “keratin”, “porosity”, “hair texture”, “moisture”, this is the most conclusive result that somewhat related to my research. Unfortunately, this will not be something I will be using in my research paper; the article goes scientifically in-depth about hair strands and features complex ideas that I can’t utilize.


Billero, V., & Miteva, M. (2018). Traction alopecia: The root of the problem. Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dermatology, , 149. doi:10.2147/CCID.S137296


From this source I gathered that traction alopecia occurs in all races, but hairstyles done in African cultures are the most prevalent cases of traction alopecia. The article was vague but understandable for someone who has little to no dermatology experience. It was also cited very well, gave great examples of each hair style that was discussed. It detailed how, who, where, and what when it comes to understanding traction alopecia. I just wish there was a diagram displaying the subcutaneous difference between African hair versus other hair types. This article essentially backed up my concerns when it came to what steps I actually followed when doing my hair. I chose to tie my hair too tight, avoided heat, and chose a hairstyle that was considered light weighted.


The Boho Babe. “PASSION TWIST FULL TUTORIAL! 2018 BY THE CREATOR OF PASSION TWIST.” YouTube, YouTube, 21 Sept. 2018, www.youtube.com/watch?v=6jSitu6lzNo


This video instructs the view on how to create the Boho Babe’s signature hairstyle. She shows the type of hair she uses, how she prepares the hair, how she installs the hair on another person, and how to keep the twist from unraveling. The Boho Babe also offers a paid course on how to do the hair style as a professional service. In relation to the sources on traction alopecia, I’ve taken her instructions with a grain of salt. I’ve decided to ignore her instructions on how to twist the weave into the natural hair because of the tension it creates on the scalp. She also instructs the viewer to tug the hair as they twist down to create friction and to keep it from unravelling, I chose to ignore that as well to avoid the breakage of my own hair. Another thing she instructs the viewer to do is to apply mousse/holding foam to the entire shaft of the hair, this can be very drying for hair that’s already coarse. All together it was an informative base on how to achieve the curly and bouncy look.


LifeAsDaletia. “Easiest Passion Twist Tutorial | #Daletia.” YouTube, YouTube, 14 Jan. 2019, www.youtube.com/watch?v=AXPMP6dgsM4.


Just like the Boho Babe’s tutorial, “LifeasDaletia” provides a tutorial on how to do passion twists. She provides all of the necessary steps to do the hairstyle but includes information that the Boho Babe did not. During the Boho Babe’s tutorial her client’s hair was straight, allowing her hair and the weave to blend together easily. Daletia provided a route that allows any hair type to secure the weave at the base: she separates her hair into two pieces, then places the weave into the middle and ties her own hair around it. It provides security, all the while allowing the scalp to remain relaxed. I appreciated this method and intended on using this method while doing my hair but unfortunately, I came to a road block while attempting on my own head.


nappyheadedjojoba. “The UGLY TRUTH of Passion Twists - Nightmare Takedown Experience | 4C Hair.” YouTube, YouTube, 26 Jan. 2019, www.youtube.com/watch?v=sS1kzMfdunE.


Youtuber nappyheadedjojoba uploaded a video to explain her experience with the Passion twists hair style. She details how she installed the product and what happened when she uninstalled the hair. She details how the tugging method that the Boho Babe instructs her clients to do can cause webs and tangles between the fake hair and a person’s real hair. She also states how when preparing the hair it created knots before she installed the hair, which lead me to decide to not prepare the hair all at once. I especially liked this source because it allowed m1e to avoid issues that could cause breakage in my hair instead of protecting it.


Renee, Amia. “HOW TO: Super Easy PASSION TWIST.” YouTube, YouTube, 25 Jan. 2019, www.youtube.com/watch?v=bIb8YcE2d9c&t=298s.


This tutorial is just like the other’s offered earlier but Amia Renee offers that the viewer can braid the hair into the root to start off the twist, instead of twisting the hair pieces together. Renee discusses the type of hair she used, how she personally installed the hair and how to separate the hair. I crossed paths with this tutorial when looking for alternatives to simply twisting the roots together, but ultimately I failed when I tried this specific tutorial despite the title labeling it super easy. Otherwise the YouTube vlogger provided little to no new information than what the other videos had to tell.


Robinson, C. L. (2011). Hair as race: Why “Good hair” may be bad for black females. Howard Journal of Communications, 22(4), 358. Retrieved from https://login.proxy.lib.fsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edb&AN=67247050&site=eds-live&scope=site


I chose this academic journal as a route of validation. The journal details the experiences for 38 black women and dealing with comparisons around hair maintenance. It informs the reader about how black hair is perceived within the community, how its dealt with, and the hierarchy that comes with hair management. Coarse hair is perceived as difficult to manage and associated with darker skinned women, while the opposite is perceived for women with lighter brown skin. The survey participants share how there are perceived negatives with coarser hair textures but there are positives that can be associated with it as well. Mainly the versatility that comes with transforming and masking coarser hair textures. I like this source because it provides the good, the bad, and the ugly when dealing with a variety of hairs all across skin tone ranges. Unfortunately, this journal reads more as a survey than an article to me. Perhaps it’s because the information provided in the article is already something I have the displeasure of living through. Despite the article reading as hearsay to me, I take it as a snapshot of the larger hair community that I am a part of. One of the participants noted that women with kinkier hair tend to keep their hair styles in for longer and this reminded me of the traction alopecia articles that made note of having hairstyles in for too long can cause prolonged tension breaks.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Community Profile

The online community is really vast but hard to pinpoint down for this particular hairstyle. It envolves people from anywhere in the world that has internet access. The targeted audience for the Boho

Personal Profile/Interview

Me: I’m doing my hair for the first time. I think one of my biggest issues is getting clean cuts in my hair. My Sister: It’s easy, all you have to do is hold the comb as flat as possible against your

Research Proposal

The beginning of my research began in December 2017, that was when I started to cut my relaxed hair off. Since then, I subscribed to as many natural hair gurus as I could on YouTube. I didn’t official

bottom of page