top of page
  • Berline

Research Proposal

The beginning of my research began in December 2017, that was when I started to cut my relaxed hair off. Since then, I subscribed to as many natural hair gurus as I could on YouTube. I didn’t officially remove all of my relaxed hair until spring of 2018. That was because I wanted it to be at ponytail length before I cut the stringy relaxed ends. So the winter of 2019 was the first time I had the chance to really where my natural hair out in the cold weather. It was the complete opposite of the nice warm summer days where I could just cowash (cleaning and re-moisturizing hair by using conditioner only) and walk out the door. I had to find something to do with my hair that didn’t involve me braiding it for 3 hours every week. I began to look up protective hair styles when I initially cut my hair but I decided I wanted to learn how to manipulate it myself. Now that my hair is past its awkward phase, somewhere in between short and not too short, it’s a little harder to manage. At this stage it’s harder to see the difference in growth. Most “naturalistas” prefer to do some form of protective styles that revolve around wearing weave. I can’t always afford that, so I decided to look into the DIY community. Since the community is online, I reached out to a close friend that could help me with a closer hands on approach. Doing hair comes with practice, so I needed a guide to tell me that I was heading into the right direction. I wanted to save money, avoid damaging my hair, and learn something new.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Community Profile

The online community is really vast but hard to pinpoint down for this particular hairstyle. It envolves people from anywhere in the world that has internet access. The targeted audience for the Boho

Personal Profile/Interview

Me: I’m doing my hair for the first time. I think one of my biggest issues is getting clean cuts in my hair. My Sister: It’s easy, all you have to do is hold the comb as flat as possible against your

Project 2 Final

Berline Exantus Mat Wenzel ENC 2135 April 4, 2019 Weavie Wonder On a personal level, I can relate to the average able-bodied male’s hatred of shrinkage. I too suffer from shrinkage! As do the many wom

bottom of page